The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

I learned a valuable lesson

I learned a valuable lesson yesterday
I was doing some running around yesterday with my friend Cooper when I ran across this woman who looked like she didn’t have a place to live. She was dragging a small toboggan behind her with what looked to be all her earthly possessions. She stopped and asked me if I had any change for her to get something to eat. What a sorry excuse of Christian I am. My first reaction was to look in my change pocket to see if I had any quarters to give her… how typical. Anyway, after realizing I had no change I took out the only money I had on me, a $20 dollar bill and gave it to her very begrudgingly and hesitantly. When I gave it to her, her eyes started to well up with tears. She asked me if I was an angel… and I think she was serious. I told her I wasn’t. She then gripped the money, closed her eyes and said outloud “Thank you God”. I was moved and extremely convicted as we parted ways. Later that day when I returned to my office I read this passage in 2Corinthians 9:11-12
You will be made rich in every way so that you can be generous on every occasion, and through us your generosity will result in thanksgiving to God. This service that you perform is not only supplying the needs of God’s people but is also overflowing in many expressions of thanks to God.
I almost cried when I read that and remembered the woman’s words “Thank you God”. I’m so ashamed at how reluctant I was to give anything of value to that woman. To be honest, the only reason I gave her anything was because I was to embarrassed to say no after already looking in my wallet for change and finding nothing. So many good things happened as a result of her receiving that money. She got something to eat. She felt a small glimmer of value to God. Most importantly, in the words of Paul, “…your generosity will result in thanksgiving to God.”

December 4, 2002 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

