The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

Why don’t leaders want to learn anymore?
One of the things that has really been bothering me about the Church in North America lately it the disturbing trend I see in Pastors who have stopped being learners. They come through seminary and seem to then believe that they know everything they need to know. Statistics are showing that Pastors are reading fewer and fewer books, attending fewer and fewer conferences that are outside their denominations, and are less and less willing to reexamine themselves and why the think what they think. Len Sweet says that we think of ourselves as “Learned” instead of “Learners” and all of the pompous self-importance that comes along with it. I slip into this all the time.

As you know, I’m in Calgary right now at our denominations National Leadership get together. One of the speakers yesterday talked about this very thing. He went so far as to say that “When we cease being learners, we CEASE BEING FOLLOWERS OF JESUS CHRIST”. Wow, I thought that was a little extreme… but when I thought about it, I realized that he was absolutely right. As Pastors, we set a terrible example for our congregations when we don’t live our lives in the open and let our people see us on our quest to be learners. I think that’s one of the reasons I have this website. I learn so much from the comments people leave and the emails they send. I have very strong opinions, I’m very stubborn, so to be a learner is a daily discipline for me.

So here’s a question. What does it mean to be a learner? How can I become a better learner? How can I get to the point where all I know is “Jesus Christ and Him crucified”, and everything else is up for debate? Everything else can be learned more, or reexamined, or questioned. Then, how do I live this life of a learner in front of the people in my church? I’m trying now, but I have a lot to learn. Help me out.

March 11, 2003 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

