The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

The problem with “Revival”
When evangelicals start talking about wanting “revival” I always want to laugh out loud. When I ask them what they think revival is, they’re definition always revolve around “tons of people getting saved”. So they pray and pray for revival. The problem is, no matter how hard you pray, God isn’t going to force someone to come into a relationship with him, let alone “tons of people”.

As I mentioned in my last post, I just spent a couple of days in Vancouver with Henry Blackaby at a prayer conference. Henry decided to talk on the issue of revival and he said something that will always stay with me:

Revival is when God allows His people to see their own hearts the way He seems them, and it breaks them.

WOW! This floored me. He hit the nail right on the head! Christians always think revival is about what God will do to “those” people, when really revival is about what God wants to do in “His” people. I just thought that was really cool.

April 26, 2003 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

