The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

What was Sodom’s real problem?

What was Sodom’s real problem?
Mike Todd just moved away from Ontario and used to attend my old church in Oakville called The Meeting House. If you don’t read his blog regularly, you really should. I got this from his site last night and thought I should share it.

As a Christian “lifer” I thought I knew the sins of Sodom and Gomorrah. Everyone does, right? The place was a mess, but we’ll wrap it all up under the heading of “sexual immorality”. And then this man read us this verse:

Sodom’s sins were pride, laziness, and gluttony, while the poor and needy suffered outside her door. (Ezekiel 16:49)

Somehow or other I don’t think I’d ever seen that verse before – and if I had, well, I’d never really seen it. A couple of things come to mind. First, all sin is equal. Pride is sin. Sexual immorality is sin. It’s all sin.

The second point is for those of you who say I’m taking this verse out of context. Yes, if you include the next verse it says this:

Sodom’s sins were pride, laziness, and gluttony, while the poor and needy suffered outside her door. She was proud and did loathsome things, so I wiped her out, as you have seen.

Aha! There’s the sexual part. That’s the Sodom I know… and now I can feel a little better about pride, etc. But, at the risk of contradicting myself… which sin was covered first in the passage?

June 11, 2003 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

