The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

To Move or not To Move… that is the question

I’m so fickle. I’ve been going back and forth over this for months. The question is “Should I move”?

Ok, here’s the story… the Law Firm I WAS working at is in Downtown Hamilton. I found this little Bachelor apartment just a 5 minute walk from the office… so I took it. It’s small… but it’s just me living alone so it’s not like I need much space. I don’t really like the apartment all that much… but it is big enough… I like the area… and it’s pretty cheap.

I’ve always been one of those people who wants to live BELOW their means. A recent survey I read said the average Canadian between the ages of 23-45 spend about 0.6% MORE than they earn. That’s crazy! That means everyone is in debt!

Anyway, back to the matter at hand. The fact of the matter is that I can afford something a little bit nicer than what I’m living in now. So I go out looking at places and get all excited about moving. But then I keep asking myself “John…. do you NEED to move?”

What do I NEED that this apartment isn’t giving me at the moment? Although small… I can’t say I NEED more space… because I don’t. The place isn’t falling apart. There aren’t noisy people living here (it’s actually really quiet). The Landlord is pretty personable… but I just don’t know!!!

Someone (who was trying to be encouraging) said I should get a bigger place because I should live more like I’m grown up. But it that what “grown up” means? Spending more money on things you don’t need?

Anyway… I’m really torn. Some days I wake up and can’t wait to get out of here, and then other days (like today) I wake up and think I’m crazy for thinking of moving when I have everything I need and a really inexpensive price. Why spend $200 or $300 more dollars a month on something I don’t need? Grrrr… I’m torn.

November 4, 2005 - Posted by | Uncategorized

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

