The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

Doug Working On The Book

As most of you know I’ve got a book that is massively behind schedule… however, as of late I’ve been making some really good strides in getting caught up. I don’t know if I’ll ever do another book again… it’s a huge undertaking and I’ve got a whole new appreciation for people who do it.

Each chapter in the book presents a different challenge, and one chapter in particular has presented some real problems for me… it’s the “FUNNY” chapter in the book. The one chapter that more than any other in the book is meant to make the reader laugh. This chapter has been KILLING me.

Don’t get me wrong, I think I have a pretty good sense of humor. However, I’ve drafted this chapter 3 times already and I’ve never been happy with it. So I finally approached Doug (an actual comedian) and asked him to collaborate with me on this particular chapter.

Asking for Doug’s help was NOT an easy thing for me to do. It’s not that I don’t like working with Doug (I actually love working with the guy on The Audio Edition and a Screenplay we worked on), but it’s very hard for me to admit there’s something I can’t do. I’m so stubborn that I actually thought about just scrapping the chapter all together… but I really think the book needs this piece of the puzzle in there… so I swallowed my pride and asked for Doug’s help.

Being the type of guy he is, Doug instantly said yes last week and we scheduled yesterday (Saturday) as our first working session. We worked for 5 hours and made more quality progress on that chapter than I’ve made in almost 4 months and 3 drafts. I’m thrilled with it already!

I’m leaving for Saskatchewan in 5 hours and I’ll be gone for a week, but Doug and I have already decided to keep working together during that time via webcam while I’m gone. We hope to have a full draft of the chapter done by the time I get back (keeping my fingers crossed)

The above picture is actually of Doug as we were working yesterday at his place. Can’t you just see the creative juices flowing?

November 6, 2005 - Posted by | Uncategorized

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

