The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

More thoughts on the new Macbook

Well, I’ve had the Macbook for a couple of days now, and here are some of my initial impression:

1) The batter life on this thing is fantastic!!!!  I’m getting about 5 hours with it… and that’s with WIFI on and the screen at almost full brightness.  With a DVD plaing it gets about 3 hours

2) Installing new programs is EASY.  I was a little nervous about how to install new programs.  I’m just used to the whole .exe thing on my PC.  But honestly, just drag and drop the downloaded programs to the applications folder and BAM… it’s installed.  Easy as hell.

3) NOT THRILLED with the fact that I can’t play .wmv video files on this thing.  There are programs that allow you to see .wmv videos on a Mac… but none of them seem to work on the new INTEL Macs.  I’m sure they’ll come out with one soon… but right now it bugs me.

4) This is easily the most BEAUTIFUL screen I’ve ever worked with.  It’s so bright, and the colours are so vibrant. Excellent.

5) The much smaller selection of free software is killing me. My FAVORITE PC application is a nifty little tool called Memokeys… and I haven’t been able to find ANYTHING for MAC that does the same thing.  That’s kinda frustrating.

6) The sound is pretty good for a laptop… much better than my last PC laptop… but the volume is pretty low which is kinda sad

7) OpenOffice doesn’t run on the new INTEL Macs yet.  CRAP!!!!  Using AmbiWord for now as my word processor.

8)  Holy crap the botom of this things gets HOT AS HELL!!!  I read about that in advance… but it was REALLY true.  I can’t hold it on my lap for too long without moving it around.

9) The preinstalled Apps work great.  The email program is easy and wonderful to get going on.  And once I intalled Firefox I felt right at home.

10)  I started using Qumana as my Blog tool on the Mac since WBlogger doesn’t have a Mac version. It’s pretty good but i still prefer WBlogger.

More thought on this later in the week.

July 2, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

9 Comments »

  1. What’s memokeys?

    Comment by Henrik | July 2, 2006 | Reply

  2. Hey John

    Thanks for all the info on the mac. Its been great help. I’ve decided to get one. Gonna get it when i go to america, they are way to pricy over here. €600 in the difference!
    So excited about it now!

    Comment by Kate | July 2, 2006 | Reply

  3. http://www.myspace.com/directoruweboll

    check this out! its fricking hilarious

    Comment by carl | July 2, 2006 | Reply

  4. Hey Henrik

    Memokeys is a program that lets you assign text to certain keys.

    For instance, I can make F1+E automatically paste in my email address. Or 10 full paragraphs of something to F1+P

    I can take any block of text and assign a key combination to it (lke F1+G). So when I hit taht key combination that block of text appears.

    It’s awsome!!! On my PC I have my name, address, passwords, paragraphs i have to use frequesntly in emails… tons of stuff all assigned to certain keys.

    I’m going crazy without it!!!

    If you know of any Mac programs that does the same thing I’d be grateful!!!

    Comment by John Campea | July 2, 2006 | Reply

  5. Hey man, try VLC, the Video lan client and see if that takes care of the WMV bit.

    Comment by Aaron M | July 2, 2006 | Reply

  6. Flip4Mac works for me on WMV (http://www.flip4mac.com/)

    Comment by Larry | July 2, 2006 | Reply

  7. Hey Larry. it says Flip4Mac doesn’t run on the new Intel Macs yet. 😦

    Comment by John Campea | July 2, 2006 | Reply

  8. WRONG! Flip4Mac does NOW WORK FOR INTEL MACS. runs fine on my intel mac mini

    Comment by bret | July 15, 2006 | Reply

  9. Ah. John, just noticed that you replied to my comment. I didn’t know at the time that the Flip4Mac universal binary was a limited beta. (http://www.flip4mac.com/wmv_beta.htm)

    Were you able to get it?

    Comment by Larry | July 21, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

