The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

John’s Problems With Christianity

I’ve been getting an awful lot of email from people asking me what my "religious" position is.  I’m guess a lot of that is coming from the topic of my documentary

I’m a bit of an odd duck (in more ways than one I’m sure).  You see, I consider myself a Theist… the opposite of an Atheist.  I actually like the Christian FAITH very much, but a number of years ago I rejected the Christian RELIGION.

I actually might write a book (no, I’m serious) about all of the reasons why I rejected the church (I’m sure they’re not losing any sleep over it, I wasn’t that great of a Christian anyway).  But to sum it up, the main reason I left the church and the Christian religion was because…

THE CHRISTIAN RELIGION AND THE CHURCH HAVE REJECTED THE CHRISTIAN FAITH.

I know that sounds really odd.  But there are just a number of items that have become so ingrained in the Christian Religion today that are so OBVIOUSLY against what was clearly taught in the Bible that it looses it’s credibility.

Some of the bigger issues that fall under that category are:

1) Violence – I’m now doing a whole documentary on this issue, but it stagers the mind how the church has totally kicked Jesus’ ass to the curb when it comes to the issue of Christian committing violence.

2) Money – 100% of the time, and without exception, when Jesus talked about giving, it was ALWAYS in regards to the poor and the needy.  PERIOD.  There was one instance where a woman gave a penny to the Temple… but the Temple doesn’t exist anymore.  Paul took up collections… but that was to help the starving Christians back home because of a drought.  Today, the Church spends over 97% of the money given to it on itself.  Buildings, parking lots, staff salaries, sound systems, property, lighting, new carpeting yadda yadda yadda.  They also teach that "tithing" is a spiritual discipline, when in fact it is totally 100% unbiblical in the New Testament.

3) involvement in Politics and Power

4) Church Power Structure

5) The View of the Old Testament. This one is the best example of modern Christians being totally ignorant of their own faith.  The OT isn’t supposed to be authoritative anymore.  Read the NT.  New Wine and Old wineskins.  If you don’t believe it, the go sell your daughter into slavery when money gets tight, kill every man woman and child in war, kill your kid if he ever talks back at you and get a lynch mob together to go beat the guy next door to death because you saw him wearing a shirt made of two different fabrics.    🙂

6) The Church’s teaching on sex   That one is a whole can of worms

I’m not really going into much detail here… that that’s on purpose.  The over riding theme here is this:

The Church today has rejected much of its founder’s teachings, and made up a whole bunch of stuff in its place.  THEN, they come up with a whole bunch of spiritual sounding jargon to excuse their heresy and their blatant ignoring of the Bible itself

Oh yeah, I was a Baptist minister once.  Can you imagine that???

Look, I’m not trying to start a fight (not yet anyway), but people have been asking me… so I answered.

July 19, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. hey buddy! i’ve been curious for awhile as to why you’ve left the faith and now I know. I’m not a bible scholar but i do understand a lot of what you are talking about my friend :). However speaking as brother,I don’t want to see you walk away from Jesus because of people who hear but don’t listen to him. John he loves you buddy. Please give him a chance :). I know i’m just a simple man with simple faith but Christ does heal and has healed me. I’m not an intellectual person and don’t have all the answers to your issues but I KNOW Christ is at work in this world John. I’ve seen peoples lives touched by him. I know it can be a difficult walk believe me. But we can’t give up. If you feel like talking I’d be more than happy to buddy:)

    Comment by chuck | July 19, 2006 | Reply

  2. It doesn’t matter if you call Jesus Christ a whore, a fagot or even a muslim extremist, since if he is real, he will forgive you. If he does not forgive you, he is not Jesus Christ and you needn’t worry.

    I’m curious, when you say baptist minister, were you actually the guy in the robe on sundays, preaching, or is it something else? I honestly don’t know.

    I’m not trying to start a fight either ;).

    Comment by Henrik | July 20, 2006 | Reply

  3. Hey Henrik,

    You said:

    “It doesn’t matter if you call Jesus Christ a whore, a fagot or even a muslim extremist, since if he is real, he will forgive you. If he does not forgive you, he is not Jesus Christ?”

    Actually that isn’t true at all. The New Testament doesn’t teach that anywhere.

    The NT teaches that while forgivness is “free”, it does require (to use a big religous word) repentance to get it.

    It’s like a movie theater saying the movie today is free, but you still have to drive there, walk in, find a seat and sit down in order to be able to see it. It’s free… but you have to do something in order to see it.

    And yuppers… i was the guy up at the front speaking every Sunday (Although I never wore a robe a day in my life… except for walking around my house in after sex. 😛

    Cheers mate.
    ~John

    Comment by John Campea | July 20, 2006 | Reply

  4. Hey John,

    Sounds like you’ve got problems with some branches of Christianity, but there’s no reason you can’t enjoy some of the other (dare I say better? Just kidding) ones.

    For example, do a little bit of research on Mennonites and you’ll see that pacifism is one of our strongest beliefs. Organizations like Mennonite Disaster Service, Ten Thousand Villages, and Mennonite Central Committee are all extremely highly regarded organizations whose purpose is to help others.

    Check it out.

    Dave

    Comment by Dave G | July 20, 2006 | Reply

  5. I enjoy reading your thoughts on religion and I cannot wait to see your doc.

    My father is a Lutheran pastor and growing up it was very difficult to find what I believe to be true because of some of the very same conflics with religion you have posted about.
    I feel I am agnostic leaning toward atheism these days.
    However the greater forces may be working I have found that there is more weirdness to life than either religion or science can fully explain.
    That is probably why I paint and make music.
    I think I just figured something out about myself while posting this.
    Cool.

    anyways, i am glad to be reading someones thoughts on this subject from someone I respect.
    cheers,pAt

    Comment by thesecretsafe | July 24, 2006 | Reply

  6. As a loooong-time-So.-Baptist-currently-attending-a-Methodist-Church, I can certainly relate to some of your statements. My husband and I were recently hurt terribly by fellow church members. It has caused us to do some soul-searching and some scripture-searching over what the “church” is really supposed to be about. Bottom line, we’ve decided to sum up Christ’s theology in two short statements:
    Love God. Love people. Trust me, I know the church is screwed up right now. I especially see it in the So. Baptist denomination (politics) because that’s what I’ve stayed tuned in to. My husband and I are still trying to figure out what to do with our tithe money from the last 6 months – for the same reasons you mention in your “finance” section. However, I hope that you haven’t turned your back on Christ. One of the first realizations I had to come to was that Christ is NOT the church. Whatever they did to my family – and whatever they may continue to do to hurt the cause of Christ – “I know whom I have believed in….” I hope you do, too.

    Comment by Sandee | July 26, 2006 | Reply

  7. There are definitely ways that the church is falling woefully short of Christ’s standard, but don’t think every church would treat you poorly. I know mine wouldn’t, because they accepted me far more fully than I imagined. You’re right not to love the how people portray Jesus, but I want to encourage you to continue to love Christ for who he really is.

    Comment by Jeff | November 9, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

