The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

Apparently I’m An Atheist

Most people who know me know that I once traveled in some pretty religious circles.  Well… more than traveled in… I was actually a minister once.  WOW!  Talk about a whole lifetime ago.

It’s funny how Christians circles operate.  I was on my friend Darren Conley’s website the other day.  He had posted up the trailer to my upcoming documentary movie "The Prince of Peace – The God of War" and I had noticed that a couple of people had posted comments… so naturally I stuck my nose in to see what was being said.

To my surprise, I came across a comments by a person I used to know (someone from the Christian circles).  In that comment, she told Darren that she was hesitant to see my movie because she had heard I was an Atheist.

This was news to me… seeing how I just got in a bit of trouble with some people because in an interview where the writer asked me what my religious beliefs are, I replied "I’m not really sure at this point in my life… but I’m not naive  enough to be an atheist".   (Please note, that comment was off the cuff and not meant as a slight to anyone who holds atheistic beliefs)

This just once again goes to show you how these Christian circles work.  If you reject their false doctrine, they disown you… and then go on to say a lot of things about you… true or not.

I know the following statement will sound ironic… but…

THANK GOD I’M NOT IN THOSE CIRCLES ANYMORE.

July 23, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

18 Comments »

  1. A bit of a harsh response based on one person’s stupid comment (even if you do think it’s representative of a larger issue).

    Comment by Jason B | July 23, 2006 | Reply

  2. Hey Jason,

    It’s not the first time something like this has happened… this is just the one I’m writing about.

    Cheers.

    ~John

    Comment by John Campea | July 23, 2006 | Reply

  3. Religion is bad.

    How many wars have religion prevented?

    I rest my case.

    Comment by Henrik | July 23, 2006 | Reply

  4. Hey Henrik,

    If you “rest your case” on that… then it’s a pretty damn weak case.

    History doesn’t tell us much about wars that didn’t happen.

    I’m sure throughout history there were many times that solid religious conviction stopped war, or stopped people from doing things that would have lead to war.

    So how many wars DID religion start? It didn’t start world war 1. It didn’t start world war 2. It didn’t start Iraq. It didn’t start the middle east. it didn’t start Vietnam.

    So which wars exactly were started by religion?

    Comment by John Campea | July 23, 2006 | Reply

  5. I get the same responses. Seems like everyone equates the following of a religious doctrine with belief in “God”.
    That denying religion is denying God…simply not true.

    Comment by Larry | July 23, 2006 | Reply

  6. When someone religious labels someone “an atheist”, what does it mean? I know that it’s used as a slur — so what exactly is it that are they saying? Are they assuming that if you’re an atheist that you have no morality or ethics?

    I think alot of this comes down to a misunderstanding of atheism. Atheism isn’t the overt, active rejection of God — it’s just a lack of belief in a divinity. (a = without, theism = belief in God)

    I’ve got similar background experiences as you, John, so I do know where you’re coming from. That said, it’s interesting that you say it requires nativity to not believe in God or religion. I’d probably say the opposite.

    Anyway, don’t let the bastards get you down (and all that good stuff). I’m really looking forward to seeing your movie.

    Comment by becky | July 23, 2006 | Reply

  7. Hey there Becky,

    I think the frustration comes from the talk.

    I’ve never one said I was an atheist (not that there’s anything wrong with that). I’m not one. I am quite a strong Theist.

    But the talk starts. As soon as I’m not in “the circle” the talk goes unbridled.

    Meh… it’s just frustrating.

    Comment by John Campea | July 23, 2006 | Reply

  8. Well, obviously you have the medieval crusades.

    The way I understand it, plenty of people have been murdered throughout history for their religious beliefs?

    When you say the middle east, are you referring to the on-off war between the jews and the arabs? Religion started that conflict, because the only reason Jews were given a country down there, is because apparently God told them that was where they should live? Without religion, they could have gotten land anywhere in the world, but they had to get that specific piece of land because God appointed it to them, according to the book they believe in.

    Correct me if I’m wrong.

    Comment by Henrik | July 23, 2006 | Reply

  9. In the Middle east religion has never started anything. Ethnicity and geography is what is at the heart of everything there… ask any poli-sci major.

    Arabs don’t want to kill Jews ecause they’re Jews, nor the other way around. It’s all about Land and territory and who has it and who doesn’t

    Comment by John Campea | July 23, 2006 | Reply

  10. Yeah but the only reason the jews are there, is because they are convinced God told them they should live there… Otherwise, they could easily have gotten a country somewhere else, less populated.

    Comment by Henrik | July 23, 2006 | Reply

  11. That’s more of an issue of Heritage. They weren’t going to give them any land any place else.

    Comment by John Campea | July 23, 2006 | Reply

  12. I’m no expert, but the way I understand the issue, the zionist extremists who were pushing to exploit the holocaust to make the UN grant the Jews a nation, wouldn’t hear of any other place than where Israel is now, and the country had to include Jerusalem.

    Comment by Henrik | July 23, 2006 | Reply

  13. Technically, you could also make an argument that Communism in itself is a religon, or at least a religious belief.

    In that case Vietnam would be a religious war.

    In every case, other issues are obviously present, mainly economical issues.

    However, there is no major conflict in the history of the earth that has been solved by religion.

    If religion kills 1 person, and saves 0 – would that not make religion a tragedy?

    Comment by Henrik | July 23, 2006 | Reply

  14. Henrik,

    That’s a ridiculous statement. Cupcakes have never ended a major war either… but I’m sure in the history of mankind more than one person has died as a result of eating too many… or choked on one.

    Are cupcakes a tragedy?

    You will never know how many wars were prevented from happening, or prevented from getting close to happening thanks to strong religious beliefs… because those wars never happend.

    Israel is still a heritage and territorial issue. Not once did religious doctrine on either side cause the firing of rockets.

    You’re trying to tie a string to the cat here… and it just doesn’t add up.

    Comment by John Campea | July 23, 2006 | Reply

  15. Religion has killed more people than cupcakes for sure. The medieval crusades are the most obvious religious war, and plenty of people were killed in those.

    It’s a good point that I don’t know how many wars were prevented beforehand, but I do know that no war has ever been ended due to religion. Whereas AT LEAST one has started because of it.

    Neither of us can prove if religion did or did not prevent any wars in history.

    Israel at its very foundation is a religious state. Judaism (Jews – no idea what you call it in english) is a religion, and supposedly Israel is a place where people of that religion can live.

    Jews are all over the planet, why should their heritage be especially strong around Jerusalem? Is it coincidence? It has everything to do with religious beliefs.

    Comment by Henrik | July 24, 2006 | Reply

  16. Henrik, you’re really grasping at straws here.

    If you don’t know how he Jews draw their Heritage to Israel, then I don’t know how to help you.

    Israel is also a Democracy, Not a Theocray as you seemsto suggest. The USA was based on Christian Principles… does that make it a Theocracy?

    You’re basically coming across like you’ve got an axe to grind and you’re grasping at any straw you can to make a point.

    Look, I respect your opinion and that you believe something diferent than I do. Just leave it at that. This has gotten way of topic for this post.

    Comment by John Campea | July 24, 2006 | Reply

  17. religion is a very hot topic it seems. I really respect religion I think it is such an incredable clever plan. It gives people hope where there is none. It promotes order in times of coas. It is one big design. It’s not about proving it, it’s about disproving it. I heard a very good statement the other day from someone clever he said’ without religion good people do good things and bad people do bad thing. IT takes ,religion, for good people to do bad things’I can understand that. Religion is constantly playing on your fears ‘judgment’ ‘hell’ If god himself was so forgiving why would he do such a thing. As for myself I have turned into a man of science. I did belive it up to say 14 but then I ‘saw the bigger picture. Religion pretends to know everything. science doesn’t..

    Brian

    Comment by Brian | August 4, 2006 | Reply

  18. Sorry, I was searching for information on the start of Judaism and finished up here.
    If I may comment, your exchange represents in a microcosm the world’s reality.
    People do believe in different things and as John says, he has his own beliefs and respects the belief of others, which as it should be.
    The sad fact is that whereas religious beliefs and differences per se are harmless, they become a terrible tool in the hands of religious groups when manipulated for political advantage and naked power.
    If we all married someone of either a different religion or race I think we would have more beautiful and tolerant children. But it isn’t going to happen.

    Comment by Quinlan | August 8, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

