The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

A Typical Day

I’ve got a bunch of email over the last few months from people asking me what my typical day is like.  Here’s a rundown of what a typical day is like for me:

7:00 am – 9:00am
I get up, start going through the 100 or so emails that I got while I slept (no, I’m not kidding), start going through all my news sources and RSS feeds checking for what is interesting in movie news that day. This is also when I jot down any feature article ideas I have for that day.  Once I’m done, i eat breakfast.

9:30 am – 1:00 pm
After eating, this is when I do the writing for the actual posts I’m going to put up on The Movie Blog that day.

1:00 pm – 1:30 pm
I eat lunch and watch CNN or the Sports news

1:30 pm – 3:00 pm
This is generally when i go to the gym.  It’s perfect… just a 10 minute walk from my door.

3:00 pm – 5:00 pm
I try to scrape in a couple of hours to work on my movie (The Prince of Peace – The God of War).  You can see the trailer here by the way.

5:00 pm – 5:30 pm
I do the prep stuff for The Audio Edition (our Podcast we do Mon-Wed-Fri)

5:30 pm – 6:30 pm
We record The Audio Edition

6:30 pm – 7:00 pm
Edit the show, get it uploaded and post it.

7:00 pm – 11:00 pm
I try to have something that resembles a social life… never with much success.

11:00 pm – 1:00 am
Go over another 100 emails or so, start gathering some ideas for tomorrow, monitor all the sites activities like traffic, number os subscribers, comments on the site… yadda yadda yadda.

Friday nights I try to take in 1 or 2 moives, and then on Saturday or Sunday spend 2 – 3 hours taping my video reviews, editing them, getting them transcoded and getting them online.

So that’s my typical day.  Not everyday is like that, but generally that’s the idea.

July 24, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Where’s the MONEY come from?

    Sheesh man, wish I had your life! Ha ha ha…

    Comment by CrzyDJM | July 24, 2006 | Reply

  2. Hey CrzyDJM

    Haha… don’t be so sure… it’s a hell of a lot of work… and presure.

    You also have to take a lot of crap. I get called a lot of names, hell, I even have people put up websites about how much they hate me. 😛 It gets pretty bad sometimes… enough that i’ve thought about shutting the whole Movie Blog down on more than one occasion.

    But overall, yeah, I’m a pretty lucky guy. i get to do what i love for a living. Whenever you can do that… you’re blessed.

    Comment by John Campea | July 24, 2006 | Reply

  3. How do you make the dough from owning a blog?

    Comment by Josh | July 24, 2006 | Reply

  4. Ads

    Comment by John Campea | July 24, 2006 | Reply

  5. dude u have every right to blast shayamalan. 2 good movies & 3 clunkers as well as his recent actions set him up for whatever comes his way. do not ket the dribblings of a few tools get to you. surely u knew having a public forum such as this,that u were going to attract the likes of fanboy wankers who defend their fave directors/actors whatever tooth & nail regardless of how they have fucked up & dropped the ball. esp with the amount of traffic u get here. don’t even trip john.

    nice to get an insight into ur average day btw.

    Comment by Dre | July 24, 2006 | Reply

  6. This is your full time Job?!? How awesome is that!

    those ads must pay quite well.

    Comment by Liam | July 25, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

