The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

Maybe It’s Time To Move

I mentioned last month that I’ve had a little temptation to move recently.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE Hamilton, and if I moved I’ll eventually move back here again, but I’ve got a bit of an itch.

One of the reasons I wasn’t really think too hard about moving was the fact that my Audio Edition co-host Doug lives here and it would be impossible to do the show without him near by.  Well… Doug has had to step out of the Audio Edition to focus more time on his career, and I suport his decision.

So now here I am.  My friend Sharon is an actress who is moving to L.A. tomorrow, and she’s been bugging me to move there too.  Maybe I should?  Afterall, I’ve been making some great connections with the Hollywood studios down there… maybe it would make sense for me to move there for a while?

Or maybe Toronto… I’m having to go there all the time these days anyway.  Or maybe England?  Or heck… I could go anywhere that I had an internet connection and still run The Movie Blog.

i actually had an offer today to interview Ben Affleck and Adrien Brody on the 11th of August… but that’s in L.A.   Maybe I should fly down and just stay there for a couple of months?

Lot of options… I don’t know what to do.  There technically not a lot tying me down here in Hamilton at the moment… and I would eventually return (this is just home for me… and my family is here).  I’ll need to think it over and talk to my friends about it.

August 4, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

17 Comments »

  1. morning from the uk john.
    go to l.a you owe it to yourself.if you have no ties where you are just up and leave.the movieblog would benefit from the move as well as you would be closer to the action(so to speak)weather would be nicer too.do it do it do it.

    Comment by carl | August 4, 2006 | Reply

  2. I’d have to agree with Carl. It would really help your “career” in the movie business and you obviously love it so much.

    Comment by Joolies | August 4, 2006 | Reply

  3. I think you could take The Movie Blog to a whole new level if you move to LA.

    Moving sucks, but it sounds like a good opportunity.

    I absolutely loved the old Audio Edition, but if that version is truly dead I’d rather see The Movie Blog and the Audio Edition go in a new direction.

    Comment by Almost Poop | August 4, 2006 | Reply

  4. with your beloved tiger cats playing so well this year it would definitely be tough to leave at this point.

    Comment by boldtman | August 4, 2006 | Reply

  5. If I was you I would go for it. You’ve gotten the interview with Stone and you were offered to interview Brody and Affleck. Those are insane man. Totally got for it. You only live once.

    Comment by wolf | August 4, 2006 | Reply

  6. It’s all lining up for you now, isn’t it obvious? Just hop on that plane to L.A. and enjoy the adventure! You never know where it all takes you. Go for it!

    Comment by finnishguy | August 4, 2006 | Reply

  7. Ahh sweet. Affleck and Brody. That is my most anticipated movie for the coming months. “Hollywoodland” looks incredible. The trailer is awesome. I dont know, this is a tough decision. Just do whats best for you man.

    Comment by Joey 1.0 | August 4, 2006 | Reply

  8. lets hope there aint no snakes on the plane to l.a dude.

    Comment by carl | August 4, 2006 | Reply

  9. Yep a move to LA after all that’s happened now seems like a great idea! You’ll be in the mix of Hollywood’s fame and shame!

    DO IT! 🙂

    Comment by Jason | August 5, 2006 | Reply

  10. Everyone has trouble with change, but this change would SOOOOO make things better for you. You can be THERE were movies happen. You can do more interviews and heck, as you become more well known you could be invited to MORE movie sets and meet MORE great actors and directors.

    In the words of a wise shoe… Just Do It!!

    Comment by anonymousbrain | August 5, 2006 | Reply

  11. On the other hand, moving to LA would make you lose some of the distance you have from the movie biz – which is part of the appeal of the Movie Blog, the fact it is run by an outsider, a guy like us, who can say and write what he pleases because he is not part of the circus.

    Worth a thought.

    Comment by Claude | August 5, 2006 | Reply

  12. I think it’s a good idea to move to LA and see what other opportunities you can get there. If you just stay put, you’ll end up wondering about the what ifs.

    However if you do move, I’ll miss Darren!

    Comment by dani | August 5, 2006 | Reply

  13. Go for it man. If nothing else it will at least be an “adventure”. Good or bad? Who cares, you’ll kick yourself for not trying if you stay. I know I would.

    Comment by Pat | August 5, 2006 | Reply

  14. movie to LA!!

    then you can do the audio edition with sharon dewitt, and somehow do audio aditions with darren and doug over msn or somthing

    Comment by kyle | August 6, 2006 | Reply

  15. I think you should move, this would be a great choice. You could do the audio edition with Darren and Doug with a program called TeamSpeak

    Comment by Nick | August 7, 2006 | Reply

  16. Nothing but good things for the movie blog if you moved to L.A.

    But as a former resident of California, trust me when i say that L.A. is a sprawling shithole.

    Comment by borloff | August 8, 2006 | Reply

  17. I say go for it! I’d be stoked to see an interview with Ben Affleck & Adrien Brody!

    Comment by Vix | August 10, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

