The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

Canada’s Most Recognized Film Critic

Haha… well this one was funny enough to post about.  I did an interview with an Ontario radio station today about the whole Mel Gibson mess going on… and one of the questions they asked me was:

“How does it feel to be Canada’s most recognized film critic?”

That was a really odd question that I quickly shot down. I am NOT Canada’s most recognized film critic.  But then they suggested that if you lined up the top 10 film critics in Canada, and asked 1000 random Canadians which one they recognized, my name would be mentioned more than any other.

Now, I don’t know if that’s true or not… but I could help but wonder if that was a complitment on the Movie Blog… or a jab at how much I put my own stupid picture up on the site.  😛   Meh, either or.

August 7, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Hmm… Well… I am not Canadian. But, if you asked me about Canadian critics, you would be the first one in my mind. But… you are the only Canadian one I know of. So there ya go :P. Thats really cool though that your getting known, well you know what i mean, bigger, haha.

    Comment by Joey 1.0 | August 8, 2006 | Reply

  2. I vote for the latter. LoL, just teasing.. I don’t really pay enough attention to film critics to judge!! But you should take it as a compliment!!

    Comment by Innocent Devil | August 10, 2006 | Reply

  3. You are the only candian critic I know of 😛 You are the only critic I follow really to be honest.

    Comment by wolf | August 11, 2006 | Reply

  4. Yep for me it’s Ebert then Campea. Take the compliment. My guess is 700 out of a 1000 would not be able to think of anybody. I know that sounds like is n insult, it’s not. I just think us “fanboy’s” care a lot more about movies than most.

    Russell

    PS

    It’s been long enough for us outsiders to find out what happen with Richard i.e. why he left the Movie Blog. Fill us in or at least me 🙂 I swear I won’t tell a sole.

    Comment by Russell | August 13, 2006 | Reply

  5. I think the film critic terminology should based on a common geographical and mythological experience among its people.

    Comment by zobe | August 16, 2006 | Reply

  6. when I think of Canadian film critics, my mind goes to Geoff Pevere immediately.

    Comment by Goon | August 17, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

