The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

Formulating An Exit Strategy

Things have been going really well for me recently.  The Movie Blog is doing great, growing more all the time.  My movie is coming along and I’m happy with its progress right now… so things are good.

But recently I’ve been giving some thought to what I do AFTER The Movie Blog… and I’ve been realizing I don’t really have an exit strategy at this point.

What I mean is, if the Movie Blog were to suddenly blow up tomorrow… I don’t have a solid plan as to what I would do next.  I’d like to think that my documentary will become world famous and I’ll become a renowned filmmaker… but let’s be real… that isn’t going to happen.

So yeah… I’ve realized that I don’t know what I’m going to do next… or even what I WANT to do next (aside from the world famous fimmaker thing).  The Movie Blog is great… but it won’t last forever.  It could die tomorrow… or I could get sick of it… who knows.  But I need to start formulating an exit strategy and figure out what my next move will be.  I think that’s important.

Any ideas?

August 18, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Just want you to know that I really do think your movie site is awesome. I think I live and breathe it half the time. I frustrate my fiance because I know all the movie rumors before he does. lol. I go back and read any posts I miss. I can’t imagine life without the movieblog. All I can say is that you better pass it on to someone else if you move on. Anyhow, thanks.

    Comment by Angela | August 18, 2006 | Reply

  2. Well if (heaven forbid) something happens to The Movie Blog and it ends before you get sick of it, maybe you could write about movies – as a critic or ‘pundit’ – for a newspaper or magazine.

    If you’re sick of movies though, maybe you could put that Bible college training to some good use!

    Comment by ash | August 18, 2006 | Reply

  3. You could always take some courses in Marketing/ public relations and try and parlay Themovieblog into a job with a company like Paramount. Maybe you could become the guy that surfs the internet and spins media stories. Worse case you could always take some other job in marketing

    Comment by Jason B | August 19, 2006 | Reply

  4. hey john there is always moobies 🙂

    Comment by carl | August 20, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

