The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

Single Greatest Television Episode I’ve Ever Seen

Most of you know that I’m completely in love with the new Battlestar Galactica. To me (and many other critics) it is, without exaggeration, the single greatest TV show in the history of television. It’s just that damn good. And tonight, I saw what was easily the best episode they’ve ever had.

I’m not going to go into what happened or any details… but this episode had it all. Heartbreak, tragedy, triumph, beating all odds, despair, fantastic battles… wow… I need to pee. It was so wonderful, I need to watch it again.

Just when I think a show can’t get any better… they blow my socks off yet again. The only bad thing is that I have to wait until next week to see the next glorious episode.

October 22, 2006 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Agreed. The rescue/battle was better than most feature films. The emotion that existed during the battle was amazing. How can they get any better? Why am I watching anything else?

    Comment by Larry | October 23, 2006 | Reply

  2. You know you’re the 4th or 5th person I know that’s raves about this show so I started watching it about a month ago. After seeing a few episodes I have to say you are absolutely right. It’s a great show. All I know is the scene where the Battleship jumps twice as it’s falling to the earth was stinking sweat! Larry is right that whole episode would have looked great on the big screen.

    John, what do you think of heroes? I think it’s the next great show. Right up there with Lost and Smallville.

    BTW I never heard back from the email I sent you last week. I was really interested in your answer.

    Comment by Russell | October 24, 2006 | Reply

  3. i have fallen in love with this show.

    i went and bought the first 3 box sets. i can’t wait for the third season. (i don;t have cable and i don’t download tv or movies).

    Comment by miles | October 25, 2006 | Reply

  4. John, I have to tell you. I sat there with my wife watching the scene with Tigh and Ellen. This is how it went down in my head:

    “Oh they are talking.”
    “She has given up a lot for him, can he forgive her?”
    “Wait a sec…”
    “He didn’t … did he?”
    “No.No.No.No.No”

    I practically (I said practically) wept at the emotion this scene pulled out. It was heavy and it was beautiful.

    Comment by Bishop | October 25, 2006 | Reply

  5. Have you ever thought about doing a single podcast about Battlestar Galactica? I’d definitely be interested in hearing some of your thoughts about the show in audio form. I wasn’t thinking of a series of podcasts or anything, but you’ve obviously got some things you could say about the current season. You and Darren could talk about it and put it up just for fun. Just a thought.

    Comment by Chris | November 18, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

