The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

I Hate Text Messaging

Cell-Phone-2I really hate text messaging. Don’t get me wrong, I like getting text messages (everyone likes getting messages either in the mail, email, text message.. ect…) but I hate the slow, painful process of “typing” in messages in a keypad that was never meant for typing text and sending it from a handheld device (my cell phone) that was never meant for that function.

Maybe it’s just me… I can type (real typing) faster than just about anyone I know, but it takes me like 2 mintues to send a simple “Yeah that sounds good, see you then” message. Gaaaa! Maybe my fingers are just too fat.

But honestly, I just can’t figure out why so many people are obsessed with Text Messaging. Why take 30+ minutes to carry on a text conversation with someone when you could have just used that SAME cell phone to CALL THE DAMN PERSON and complete the conversation in 1 minute???

But oh well. If you feel the same way I do, but like the idea of sending text messages, there is a website that you’ll love. It’s called TEXTMESSAGE.CC

The site is really simple. You just enter the persons cell phone number, type the message and hit send. And “POOF”, you sent a text massage to their phone and it’s all FREE! Just that easy. I use this thing all the time now. There are other sites out there that basically do the same thing, but I just liked this one most. Go try it.

February 21, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. I just had to make a comment on your little piece. I love text messaging. I use it when I’m not at home or within reach of a computer.
    Cellular phones are now equipped with fancy schmancy devices that are notthat necessary. I don’t even have to give examples.

    Text messages make use of the letters on the keypad. Plus it gives your fingers some exercise. There are some plans that allow you to have UNLIMITED number of sent text messages, and its usually free to receive them. So..why not make use of this opportunity? It’s not like it costs 15 cents more to send another text.

    Ok ..so they’re not meant to have full fledged convos on them but…if its free..(and cheaper than long distance calls and you both have the time, then why not?) I text my cousin and friends in Europe and it works out pretty well than say…hm…maybe 40c a minute with probably poor reception.

    You suggested an okay alternative if the other person is at home then sure they can go to the site and reply. I have no problem with that. As long as the message is sent, and replied to, then I’m fine 🙂

    Comment by NT | February 21, 2007 | Reply

  2. One word, Treo

    Comment by Russell | February 26, 2007 | Reply

  3. Try using your thumb joint. It’s easier than you would think.

    Comment by vijay | February 27, 2007 | Reply

  4. I feel exactly the same way about texting. It sucks. Plus you get charged for what would have been a free phone call.

    Comment by shane razey | March 15, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

