The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

A Really Scary Time

I’m getting into what will be a pretty scary, and yet exciting time. You see, I’ve always tried to live by the motto “No guts no glory”, which just basically means that if you want to get to where you want to be in life, you need to take risks. And risks… sometimes don’t pay off. But, if you don’t risk, you never get anywhere.

So here I am right now, about to take a couple of major risks… that both happen to be financial in nature. First of all, I’m about to hire someone full time with The Movie Blog. I really believe that in order to take The Movie Blog to the next step, to do the things on the site that I want them to do, that I need another person with me. This is huge… because an employee isn’t cheap. I’m scared as hell… but on April 1st, I get a new person to work with me.

Second is my movie. The movie has made VERY little progress over the last couple of months due to the fact that I haven’t been able to edit it properly. Ever attempt I’ve made has failed. I’m actually a very good editor… but editing documentaries is TOTALLY different and I need help. So, as I mentioned earlier I’m hiring an editor to help me with this stage. Editors aren’t cheap, and if you get the wrong one to work with you, you can end up worse off than you were to start with. BUT… this movie is important to me… and I believe in it… so this risk is worth it.

So yeah, I’m scared as hell right now, I’m probably going to bankrupt myself within the next 3 months for the site and for the movie. But at least when I’m living in my parents basement again I’ll be able to look myself in the mirror and say “I tried”.

March 7, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. i hope everything turns out well

    Comment by louman | March 8, 2007 | Reply

  2. Have you just announced on The Movie Blog that it’s Doug?
    This is the best possible news!

    Comment by Bob | March 17, 2007 | Reply

  3. Well, risks are apart of life, and I’m sure you already know that. I wish you the best of luck.

    Comment by Salem | April 4, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

