The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

Jay Cheel is Editing My Film

As I mentioned last week, I’ve finally decided to bite the bullet and hire myself an editor for Prince of Peace – God of War. I’m a good edior, but I’ve never done documentaries before, and it’s a totally different game than editing narratives. I needed help. So, I put out the word that I needed an editor.

I was overwhelmed by the response I got from people. Editors and studios all over LA were contacting me… even offering to do my film at half their regular rates because they loved the look of the project. I even had an Oscar nominee and the amazing guy who did the editing on the Clerks 2 DVD talk with me. But in the end… I found my guy.

Jay Cheel is a documantary filmmaker himself (he did a great little documentary short called Obsessed and Scientific a while ago) and is the editor of The Documentary Blog as well as a graduate of the Niagara Film School program.

Jay and I have known each other for about 2 years now, and I’m comfortable with him. He’s dedicated, a solid guy and most importantly very talented. I’m honored to have him working with me on the project. We started getting together and collaborating this past week, and I’ve already begun to feel the momentum building on the movie again. I think we’re going to make a very good team, and that Prince of Peace – God of War will benefit greatly from his involvement.

March 12, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. That’s excellent. I really enjoyed Jay’s short doc and I’m excited to see what comes of your film.

    Congrats!

    Comment by Marina | March 12, 2007 | Reply

  2. Way to go Gio! I’m glad things are working out. Although this takes you closer to leaving the Hammer 😦
    Best of luck, and can’t wait to see the finished product!

    Comment by Meaghan | March 13, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment