The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

RAM is our Friend

Considering how long I’ve used computers for the majority of my work/paly, I think I have a pretty good understanding that increasing the amount of memory (RAM) improves how fast and how well your computer runs (to a point anyway). I never realized this was even more true for MACs.

As some of you may know, about 5 months ago I bought my first Apple computer. It’s the Macbook laptop. It’s just amazing, and while I love my desktop PC, I’ll never buy another non-apple laptop again. It was the lowest end one with 512 megs of RAM in it, and it ran just fine. Well… I decided last week to put in more RAM because Photoshop was acting a bit clunky and someone suggested trying more RAM.

HOLY CRAP!!!! It’s like I’m using a whole new computer. All I did was throw another 512 into it… and BANG! This thing is just flying, and photoshop has never worked smoother. So the moral ofthe story today kiddies is… RAM IS OUR FRIEND. Go get some.

March 14, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Indeed. Also you should note that a change like that makes more of a difference than say a move from 1GB to 2GB or 2GB to 3GB. And of course there are also other involved factors like hard drive RPM.

    Where did you buy your RAM John? Did you install it yourself?

    P.S. Install the new Photoshop CS3 Beta, it’s a Universal Binary (CS2 and earlier are PowerPC), so it’ll run loads faster. I went from loading the app in 20 seconds to about 2 seconds (really) on my Macbook Pro.

    Comment by Sujay | March 14, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

