The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

Prince of Peace – God of War Update

Well, we’re now approaching a full year since I started work on Prince of Peace – God of War. I thought I should give you all a quick update on it’s progress and tell you basically what it’s all about.

For those of you who may not know what the movie is even about, here’s a quick synopsis I wrote the other day for it:

“The Religious Right in America were the largest body of supporters for the decision to go to war in Iraq by one of their own, President George W. Bush. But how can the Religious Right lobby and support actions of war, when their own religion was founded on the pacifist teachings of it’s founder, and whose church practiced a strict pacifism for the first 300 years of its existence until the time of Constantine? Prince of Peace – God of War is a look at the growing political and moral divide in the Christian Faith of North America over the question: Should Christians kill people?”

The film (which looks like it’s going to clock at just over 60 minutes) looks at both sides of the debate of Christians involvement in war. Clearly, I take a position that Christians (if they are truly following their faith) should NEVER kill another human being according to the teachings of Christianity. However, as we approach the end of the project, I feel confident that we have presented both sides (there are more Just War theorists in the film than Christian Pacifists) even though I unapologetically reveal my bias in the film.

Right now, the furious push is to get everything wrapped up by June 1st, which is our deadline to submit the film to the Toronto International Film Festival. There is no guarantee that POP-GOW will actually get accepted into the festival (I’ll be stunned if we get in), but I think it’s worth the shot. Jay Cheel has been working VERY hard to get the editing rolling and has been doing a wonderful job.

This week I start scoring the film. Yes… I’m going to be writing and producing the soundtrack for the film… not because I’ve always wanted to score a film (I haven’t), but more because it’s a lot easier and cheaper than trying to buy music for the project. So if you think the music in the movie is great.. .PRIASE ME! If you think it sucks… BLAME ME. LOL.

Another HUGE issue I’m dealing with is if we should incorporate a narrator or not. Personally I DO NOT want to use a narrator. However, there are some sections to the film that that MIGHT benefit from some narration to give some structure to the thoughts being presented. I have to make up my mind REALLY soon… like in the next couple of days soon.

So right now we’ve got a little over 2 weeks to work our asses off and get this thing wrapped up and ready for submission to the festival.

On a personal note, and I HONESTLY mean this… the film is turning out far better than I ever dreamed it could. I’m a thrilled with the movie and very proud of it already. That doesn’t mean everyone else would or should like it… but I started out on this journey to make a film (my first documentary) that I found compelling and would be something that I myself would want to watch… I can proudly tell you I believe we have accomplished that. I can’t wait to share it with all of you!

May 12, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Congrats John! That’s great news! Good luck with the finishing touches and BEST of luck with TIFF!

    Comment by Marina | May 14, 2007 | Reply

  2. Outstanding stuff John. We’re all very proud of you.

    Personally, narration should be avoided in most films, for some reason, it makes it seem more like a tv show for some reason. Documentaries can do it though, so I suggest dub it yourself, and see which one sounds better.

    No matter. Great stuff.

    Comment by Gruff | May 17, 2007 | Reply

  3. sounds like an intresting movie. i’d like to see it. will it be on here? “america”. I beleave in america, i don’t always belaeve in who runs it, but i guess if it sucked here no one would come here. seems to me everyone wants to be here. why? then when they get here, they want to change it to be like were they came from. why? just stay were ever your form and change that place. make it better. anyway good luck with the movie.

    Comment by mike mchale | June 14, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

