The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

First Test Screening Next Week!

Like I mentioned in my previous post… it’s now been a year since I started on my project “Prince of Peace – God of War”. I’ve put so much into this. I’ve always had realistic expectations for the movie since it was my very first attempt at a documentary… and I was doing totally on my own.

But now here we are. the film is almost complete (will be done in the next few days, at least the initial final cut) and in 1 week (next Friday) 3 separate groups of people (2 in Hamilton and 1 in Ottawa) that I don’t know will be sitting down to watch the movie and then give me their feedback. I can’t even begin to express how stressed out I am about this. A year of work… and now 40 strangers are going to finally watch it… and tell me if it’s total crap or not.

After the screening, I’ll make some final adjustments to the film and then submit it to the Toronto International Film Festival (as long as everyone doesn’t think the movie sucks… which they might).

The idea that my little film may actually get into the TIFF has me so excited… I can’t even express it. And yet that excitement also brings stress… so I’m just trying not to worry about it… but that’s not working very well. The anxiousness has me not feeling well… I’m not sleeping well, and I’m having trouble eating. I’m not very pretty to look at right now (not that I ever am).

Personally. I LOVE my film. I really honestly do. I think it’s an important topic, the interviews were sharp and I feel I fairly show both sides of the debate while not compromising on expressing my own point of view at the same time. But I’m biased and too immersed in the movie now… so I don’t have an objective perspective… thus the test screenings next Friday.

Seven days to go… lots of work to still do. I think I’ll have grey hair by next week.

May 17, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. I wish you the *very* best of luck!

    Don’t forget us little folks back west….any thoughts to VIFF?

    Comment by Marina | May 17, 2007 | Reply

  2. John just wondering,

    how are you thinking of distributing this if it goes down well at test screenings etc.?

    I hope you make it happen that the film finds it’s way over seas to the UK. (Or at some point be available on the net:P)

    Comment by Ross | May 18, 2007 | Reply

  3. Hey Ross,

    If the screenings go ok, then I’m submitting it to the Toronto International Film Festival. If (and that’s a BIG IF) it gets into the festival, I’ll see if a ditributor wants to pick it up.

    If that doesn’t happen… I haven’t deided yet how to try to ditribute it. I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it. 🙂

    Don’t worry… one way or another it’ll get over there.

    Cheers!

    Comment by John Campea | May 24, 2007 | Reply

  4. I have an idea John, whether the film goes down well or not. If you do another Films 4 Food Fest then that could be a “special” movie that you could show everyone and who knows – if OTHER people hate it, the people at the next F4FF will appreciate it more because they are fans of The Movie Blog aka bias opinions lol.

    Comment by Ross | May 24, 2007 | Reply

  5. John, I wish you the best of luck! I think the topic is a great one (and very timely, to say the least).

    Comment by Mark | May 29, 2007 | Reply

  6. Hey John, saw the trailer (not sure if you intended for anyone to). Seemed quite interesting, I was distracted by the flickering of black inbetween shots. This was probably mentioned at your screening. Also I think perhaps the ambient music carries on a bit too long and can become a little repetitive – although it’s very effective at the start. Also I’m worried about the length – don’t you feel it might feel a bit short for distributors? Anyway overall seemed really interesting and I hope you can offer it as a movie download at some point. Offer it cheap and I’ll get a lot of friends to download it too ^_-

    Comment by Frances | May 29, 2007 | Reply

  7. Hey don’t worry about grey hair.. Look at George Clooney 😉

    Wishing you the best of luck with your baby.

    Comment by naught | May 29, 2007 | Reply

  8. (By trailer I meant first 8 minutes)

    Comment by Frances | May 29, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

