The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

My Macbook died – and returned to life!

Just a little under a year ago i was in need of a new laptop. I have always been a PC guy (I had to use Macs once in a production company and I HATED every single minute I had to use those bloody things), but when these new Macbooks came out with the intel processors… they really got my attention. I especially liked the whole 5 hour battery life thing.

So anyway, I got one to replace my PC laptop. Without mixed words… I LOVE this Macbook. It’s just amazing… and I honestly don’t think i could ever go back to a PC laptop again (Although my desktop computer is still a PC. I really like having both systems).

Well… Monday it happened. My hard drive died on my Macbook. I lost EVERYTHING that was on it. I took it into the service centre, and lucky for me a year hasn’t passed yet… so it was still under the full warranty. I just got it back today. You have no idea how much withdrawal I’ve gone through without it over these last 5 days.

June 1, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. I know what you mean about being in withdrawal. My Macbook Pro is currently in the shop because it keeps shutting down after the CPU overheats. It’s already been to Apple’s service center once – they sent it back with replacement parts but it still didn’t fix the problem! So here I sit with my Windows machine, twitching with withdrawal symptoms as I wait for the return of my beloved laptop.

    So did they manage to recover anything from your hard drive? Did you have any backups?

    Comment by Dave | June 2, 2007 | Reply

  2. I have a blackbook…can’t imagine life without it. And for all those naysayers who claim the battery life can’t possibly stretch out to 5 hours, I routinely get 5 hours when I use the book for recreational things (especially if you use safari instead of firefox because firefox is more of a hog). I do all my editing on it and Final Cut Studio even works insanely fast. Except Color. Oh well can’t have your cake and eat it.

    I am worried about the HD failures though because you’re not the only person I’ve heard of with this problem and I’ve heard some odd whirring noises recently. Did you hear any noises before it went Kaput?

    Comment by Frances | June 3, 2007 | Reply

  3. hey John, your such a artsy guy you should have been mac-ed a long time ago! Congrats on your conversion.
    my macbook pro is also emitting hard drive noises recently. It’s getting close to a year old. It’s all about backup – Jesus saves…and so should we!

    Comment by gil | June 6, 2007 | Reply

  4. i understand u totally.because i have to stay infront my pc 12hours a day.we can’t do anything without a pc in may daily life.but i think we can’t live our life like this.we should forget our pc sometimes and go out to enjoy sunshine.isn’t it?that will be more healthy life/

    Comment by wow power leveling | July 6, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

