The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

Dropped the Movie Off

Well… today I drove out to Toronto to drop off my movie “Prince of Peace – God of War” to the offices of the Toronto International Film Festival. Today was the final day of submissions, so I got it in just in time. Now it’s just a matter of sitting and waiting for about 6-8 weeks to hear back from them.

Apparently the number of films that got submitted are in the 4 digit range… so my chances of getting in are quite slim… but even if it doesn’t get into the festival, I’m very proud of the film (especially for my first attempt) and I’m glad I got it this far. The test audiences went really well, and I made improvements to the film as a result of their feedback.

Now I have to fight the urge and temptation to edit the film some more, or make more changes. At some point I have to just walk away from it and say “it is done”. But I still have a couple of things gnawing at me. I’m partially tempted to withdraw my film from the festival… make a few more changes, and then submit it to other festivals. I’ll take a couple of days to think about it.

June 9, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. The Best works of Art are never completed, only abandoned. I think George Lucas said that… before he re-edited Starwars for the fourth time… Or was it somebody historic as well… anyway. Well done! I hope I’ll get to see it someday.

    Comment by Liam | June 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. Good luck John. I went back into your blog archives and it is very evident that the subject of your film has had a huge impact on your life. Congratulations on being able to express your passion. We should all be as fortunate to be able to work on something close to us.

    Good luck on the festival (though, if it gets picked up, I’ll probably have to wait longer to see it).

    Comment by Larry | June 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. we all give u aegis.
    keep on your own belief is the most pround thing.

    Comment by wow power leveling | July 6, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

