The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

Surprise Surprise – I Didn’t Get Into The Toronto Film Festival

The Toronto International Film Festival is argued by some as the most important and most prestigious film festival in North America. It is filled with Hollywood produced films, and even the Canadian content is often high budget fare. Not to mention there were reportedly about 3000 films submitted for consideration (I think just over 200 are selected).

So even though I knew my little film “Prince of Peace – God of War” had virtually no chance at getting into the festival, I decided to try anyway and submit it. Well… I just got word that although it made it past the preliminary rounds… ultimately my film didn’t get in.

On the one hand, I’m not surprised at all. A zero budget documentary shot on a mini-dv camera by a total amateur (me) failing to get into the biggest film festival in north america won’t surprise anyone… not the least of which me. To be honest I would have dropped with total shock had I gotten into the thing. But….

I really like my film… I’m proud of it… and there was some little small part of me that actually thought it MIGHT have a shot at getting in. So I was prepared for the bad news… but it still stung. Ouch.

My goal is to get into at least one of the festivals I’ve submitted to. I’ll keep you updated.

On the positive side… Prince of Peace – God of War just got its first review… and it’s a GOOD ONE! The film site “Movie Patron” did it. You can read it here.

July 19, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. sorry to hear that, hang in there! congrats on your first positive review.

    Comment by movie replicas | July 19, 2007 | Reply

  2. Hey John, sounds like a great review!
    and the film sounds very interesting. When do we get to see it??

    Comment by gil | July 19, 2007 | Reply

  3. Sorry about not getting in. Great news on the Good Review. Also remember to keep in mind that you DID get past the preliminary round. That must say alot about what they thought of your documentary considering as you said it was an amatures first try out with zero budget. Keep up the great work and keep your hopes up.

    Comment by Steven Carroll | July 19, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hey Gil,

    Right now we’re aiming to release the DVD near the end of October. Keep your eyes open.

    Comment by John Campea | July 19, 2007 | Reply

  5. I’m sorry to hear about TIFF but it’s only one of many other festivals so the hope lives on!

    Comment by Marina | July 19, 2007 | Reply

  6. Cool, I can’t wait for the DVD release. The trailer looked great. Keep up the good work!

    Comment by Skyler | July 20, 2007 | Reply

  7. John, congratulations on making it past the preliminary round! That’s a great compliment, and I wish you the best of luck at the other festivals.

    I think this subject is very timely and I’m looking forward to seeing it later this year.

    Comment by Mark | July 20, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

