The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

The End Of A Personal Era: I’m No Longer Going To Be With The Movie Blog

Back on July 24th 2003… about 6 and a half years ago… I started “The Movie Blog” and in doing so (along with many others) helped create and shape the film blogging community that we have out there today.

I was the very first person to establish a regular podcast for movie sites (now just about every film site has a podcast), won awards, appeared in just about every media outlet, and was given the chance to do a lot of cool things.

But as Star Trek: The Next Generation said on their series finale, “all good things must come to an end”.

With those words, I announce that my time with “The Movie Blog” has come to an end as of the end of this month.

First of all I have to say the current ownership of “The Movie Blog” has been FANTASTIC. Very supportive. Very enthusiastic. In general, just couldn’t be more of a pleasure to work for and work with. I will really miss working with them on this level.

Secondly, I have to give a big shout out to all those many many people who have helped “The Movie Blog” be the site that it was. Rodney Brazeau, who has been doing much of the posting the last few months, has been an off and on contributor ever since the site started. You can continue to follow Rodney on his new film site (It’s not that new actually) http://www.TheStub.ca. It’s a wonderful site where Rodney’s film insight will continue to be be published. You should all check it out daily.

Doug Nagy gave the sight incredible personality for the years he was a part of the site. He worked along side of me on the Podcast and was a huge part of why we won the inaugural “Podcast of the Year” award. Doug continues to be a stand up comedian and you can follow him online at DougNagy.com.

Richard Brunton brought a wonderful writing style to the site and runs his own online film site called FilmStalker.Com

Todd Brown was one of the first contributing writers to the site and now runs the incredible TwitchFilm.Net

From Pia, Dan, Ashley, Sharon, Serena… the list goes on and on.

There are just too many people to list individually, but to all of them I owe a HUGE debt of thanks.

Most of all… thank you to all “The Movie Blog” readers. Many of you have been with me and the site from nearly the beginning, and I can’t express my gratitude to you enough.

You will still be able to find me writing about movies as the Editor at the new AMC Entertainment movie news blog that you can find here:
www.amcentertainment.com

I’m also going to start posting again at my personal blog over at www.campea.wordpress.com

Chapters end, and chapters begin.

Thank you again.

~John

December 14, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Well I just want to thank you for doing an amazing job with TMB. For as long as I have been reading, I’ve really enjoyed your opinions, insight and the laughs you’ve given.

    Also, you were the inspiration for me to start my own film blog, so thanks for that as well. Continued success with AMC John!

    Comment by Marc | December 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. So very sorry to hear of this news John. Your posts on The Movie Blog have encouraged many others to follow in your footsteps (including myself). Keep us informed of The Anniversary – looking forward to taking a gander in the coming months.

    Comment by 4 out of 10 Reviews | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  3. John

    I’d like to personally thank you for the The Movie Blog and the Uncut Podcast. I enjoyed them weekly since mid 2005. They got me though many lines of code at work through the years. Nothing like laughing out loud in my cube to make the day go by faster.

    I wish you, Doug, Darren and rest of the crew over the years, the best of luck. Sad to see it go.

    Comment by 12 Monkeys | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  4. As ever, I am late to the party. I cannot believe your time with the movieblog is over although I am gladdened that your words will still be published albeit elsewhere.
    TMB was a thrill!

    Comment by Antonio Spinozzi | January 30, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

