The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

For Those Of You Who Don’t Think Avatar Plagarized Dances With Wolves At Least A Little Bit

Ok, if you saw my review of “Avatar” you know I loved it. But just because I love a movie doesn’t mean I can’t call it on some of its weak points… like the fact that it felt like a Dances With Wolves rip off.

Some people flatly deny this. To them I ask this question:

What movie am i descripbing here:

“A soldier for a stronger culture goes to observe a primitive culture. The stronger culture has plans for the primative cultures land.

While there, the soldier falls in love with the daughter of the leader of the primative culture.
The girl is already sort of betrothed to a strong warrior… and that strong warrior doesn’t like the soldier… but eventually comes around to liking him.

The soldier eventually changes sides and decides to fight along side of the more primative culture against his own people because he feels it’s the right thing to do”

So is the movie I just described “Dances With Wolves” or “Avatar”. If you say “both”, then you’ve just proved my point.

December 20, 2009 Posted by | Opinion | 8 Comments