The Ramblings Of John Campea

Life Beyond The Movies

Help Me Lose Weight

Uggghhh. I’ve put on 20 pounds since last New Years Eve. My weight has really been a struggle the last few years. You see, My job consists of sitting in a movie theater watching movies… then sitting in front of my computer writing about them, or sitting in front of my computer reading reports about them. Hell… I even work from home. My amount of inactivity is staggering, but at the same time I’m crazy busy so I don’t often think about taking the time to prepare proper healthy meals or get to the gym nearly enough.

This week, I weighed in at the heaviest I’ve ever been in my life… 239 pounds. My ideal weight is 205.

Here’s a picture of me from New Years Eve (the woman in the pic is Theresa from my movie “The Anniversary”:

John-Big.jpg

As you can see, I’m bigger than I’ve ever been. The worst part of it is that I can FEEL it. I just don’t feel healthy. My legs get sore faster due to carrying around 40 extra pounds, I tire out faster and I don’t sleep as well.

THIS MUST CHANGE NOW.

So… a couple of days ago I started to focus on getting exercise and putting effort into eating properly. Nothing extreme… but it’s time to get serious.

So to help me do this, I’ve decided to post here on my blog my weight every couple of days to keep myself accountable.

SO ME A FAVOR… please encourage me as I make progress… and mock me when I don’t. I could really use the help.

Thanks guys… and happy new year!

January 2, 2010 - Posted by | Life

14 Comments »

  1. Go, john! You can do it! Happy new year

    Comment by Galih Suharjan | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. I am doing a similar “New Years resolution.” I’m sure you won’t have any problems. It’s just getting into the habit of doing better. Once that happens, hopefully it’ll get easier.

    Comment by Kevin | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  3. One bit of advice. Don’t focus on weight, (especially every few days – check every week or two, max), it is misleading and can be discouraging if you don’t see rapid progress. As a former Fitness Trainer, focus on a “lifestyle” change. Start with eating, a little exercising, just little things will add up. Don’t try to do “cold turkey” type wholesale changes. The little things will go a long way. Like you said, it is “how you feel” that is important. Don’t let a number dictate how you feel, but rather your efforts towards affecting change in your routine. Good luck.

    Comment by The Rake | January 2, 2010 | Reply

  4. one word: Jazzercise

    Comment by Nicodemus | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  5. You can get in the best shape of your life by only doing 3 hrs of exercise per week john, I suggest you invest on this program: http://www.fatlosslyfestyle.com, it only costs 50 dollars and if you don’t see results in 8 weeks they give you money back, good luck and best wishes for 2010.

    Comment by Pony | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  6. http://www.fatlosslifestyle.com

    Comment by Pony | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  7. I’m pretty much the same way. Eat, work, play, it’s all in front of a screen. I myself have been trying to lose weight these past few months as well. It’s just switching out the little things. Buy some fresh baby carrots instead of chips. If you drink a lot of soda, try going for the diet version. Trust me, it helps. And take a good long walk (about a mile or so) about once a week, or twice a week if you feel up to it. But in the end, it’s all about realizing why you’re eating. If you realize that you’re eating because of boredom, and you stop, it can make a huge difference in how you feel. And try to factor in more juices. V8 Splash is a good idea. I hope that helps. It worked for me, and I’ve lost about 25 pounds so far. Good luck, and Happy New Year.

    Comment by War-Journalist | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  8. One Word… SPEED…. followed by the obvious…SPEED KILLS Put down any form of forks and no deserts

    Comment by Dutch | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  9. Hot damn that girl has some booty on her

    I had a weight problem my freshmen year of college but last year I was able to lose 60 pounds or so by doing two key things:

    1. I dropped colas/juices. I still drank on weekends of course, but whenever possible I opted for water.
    2. Exercise. Simply, I ran for about an hour a day, every other day. At first its a chore but after a while it became refreshing. After a couple months I started slacking in both areas but I guess my metabolism picked up or something cause I kept losing weight.

    Good luck

    Comment by R1ZE | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  10. I suggest using weight watchers system to lose weight. (Don’t pay for it. It’s a waste of money.) It’s the easiest way to help you eat right and not really sacrifice the foods you love. All you need to do is use this points calculator to see how many points you are eating and just not go over your allocated points for the day. All you need to do is google how many points you specifically can have. http://www.webmilhouse.com/pointcalc.php

    It’s a really easy way since I lost 30 lbs on it. Good luck.

    Comment by meijiOrO | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  11. I think you should put this picture as your background on your computer. It’ll help you lose weight because it’ll remind you how bad fat looks, and it’ll show you what you could be getting if your weren’t fat.

    Comment by darekt | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  12. Stop stuffing your face, fatso.

    -Love

    Comment by Johanna | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  13. Your metabolism is probably slowing down. That happens as we get older. (I’m not saying youre old by the way!!)

    You need to do some exercise every day to speed up your metabolism again. Even fast walking will do it. I lost 35 kg’s and I started out just walking lots

    Also try to put lots of fibre in your diet that will also help speed up metabolism again. My trick is to make sure I eat bran for breakfast. In Australia we have a ceral called All Bran which has like 13g of fibre per serve. About 3 times as much as other cereals

    Good luck. I will joining you in the quest to drop the kilos as well

    Comment by David | February 10, 2010 | Reply

  14. No problem dude! I weight about 255, I should do the same thing!

    Comment by Max McCormick | June 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

